CONSULTING

THINK BIG
START SMALL

Based on concrete use cases, we develop a comprehensive IoT strategy together and take your business model to the next level with the transformation of your product portfolio.

Consulting

CHALLENGES FOR DEVICE MANUFACTURERS

Device manufacturers face a multitude of challenges in a world of constant change. In addition to coordinating production risks, the lack of talent and many regulations make it difficult to act. As a device manufacturer, you are in a race with new market participants for the digital future of products and business models.

In this situation, we give you a valuable advantage through the interdisciplinary experience of our design, technology and business consulting teams. We are guided by three goals:

GET IN TOUCH

Alexander W. Jonke Managing Director U-Experten

Based on concrete use cases, we develop a comprehensive IoT strategy for your company. We take your individual situation into account and consider product, technology, organizational and market factors.

For improved decision-making, we translate product ideas into concrete business cases and enable a profitability-oriented view. We compare different business models and test them using prototypes and MVPs.

Is your IoT strategy ready to be implemented? Together we define an operating model for future business models and moderate the change for your specialist departments. If desired, we support you in improving the maturity level of lean/agile development methods.

WHAT IS A SMART PRODUCT TRANSFORMATION?

We offer you a product-driven transformation of your business model, in which we identify the potential of your product portfolio and summarize it in a holistic IoT strategy. We lead your company into the digital age and build on your product portfolio, which we expand with new digital components or services. Such a product-centric transformation offers you the opportunity to change your organization positively and to unleash new innovations in the long term. Typical transformation patterns have emerged from our experience:

IOT READINESS

Networking of devices through integrated interfaces and protocols. From core business to “smart connected device” provider – you make your product (retrofit) smart.

ECOSYSTEMS

Building “smart product” ecosystems. From the product to your own connectivity and control solution. Possible connection and integration into sales and service systems.

BUSINESS MODELS

Implementation of new business models through smart products. Development of data-based business models and achievement of recurring, service-based revenues.

SCALING

Sustainable scaling of your own organization. Your team evolves with the new requirements of the “Smart Product” life cycle and reaches new levels of excellence.

Alexander W. Jonke Managing Director U-Experten

GET IN TOUCH

FOUR STEPS TO YOUR SUCCESS

HOW WE
WORK

vision

01

Design thinking methods tailored to Smart Connected Devices lead to a clear structure and a memorable visualization of ideas, use cases and value propositions.

Journey

02

The assignment of user stories to key characteristics creates clarity. There are requirements for the device (for example, for sensors and interfaces), the cloud and connectivity.

Concept

03

From user-friendliness to system architecture to pricing – the essential ingredients for the success of the product must be checked and made tangible.

products

04

A Minimum Viable Product (MVP) is the first release of a product or service with just enough features to delight early customers and adopters.

WE HAVE ANSWERS

FAQ

The transformation of your product into a smart connected device often enables a significantly better product experience from the customer’s perspective as well as completely new applications and possibilities. Customers increasingly expect their products to function smoothly in their familiar environment and to be able to be integrated and used intuitively. For companies, this means on the one hand the opportunity to better meet new customer needs, on the other hand, completely new business models. It is also worth considering economic integration into cooperative networks and ecosystems.

Human centered design is a people-centered approach to problem solving and is characterized by a strong integration of human perspectives into the problem-solving process. In our consulting practice, we use human centered design to develop a well thought-out smart connected device with a superior user experience based on individual customer needs. The users of your product are at the focus of all considerations and define the later design of the new product with their requirements and wishes, for example on the technological side.

We are always interested in new ideas and innovations. We are happy to support startups in refining their ideas via iterative prototypes and MVPs. For more information about our startup program, please use our contact form.

Get connected

CONSULTING

THINK BIG
START SMALL

Anhand konkreter Anwendungsfälle entwickeln wir gemeinsam eine umfassende IoT-Strategie und heben mit der Transformation Ihres Produktportfolios Ihr Geschäftsmodell auf das nächste Level.

Consulting

HERAUSFORDERUNGEN FÜR GERÄTEHERSTELLER

Gerätehersteller stehen in einer Welt des kontinuierlichen Wandels vor einer Vielzahl von Herausforderungen. Zusätzlich zur Koordination von Produktionsrisiken erschweren der Mangel an Talenten und viele Regulierungen das Handeln. Als Gerätehersteller befinden Sie sich mit neuen Marktteilnehmern im Wettlauf um die digitale Zukunft von Produkten und Geschäftsmodellen.

In dieser Lage verschaffen wir Ihnen durch die interdisziplinäre Erfahrung unserer Design-, Technologie- und Business-Consulting Teams einen wertvollen Vorteil. Wir orientieren uns dabei an drei Zielen:

GET IN TOUCH

Alexander W. Jonke Geschäftsführer U-Experten

Anhand konkreter Use Cases entwickeln wir eine umfassende IoT-Strategie für Ihr Unternehmen. Wir berücksichtigen dabei Ihre individuelle Situation und betrachten Produkt-, Technologie-, Organisations- und Marktfaktoren.

Für eine verbesserte Entscheidungsfindung übersetzen wir Produktideen in konkrete Business Cases und ermöglichen eine rentabilitätsorientierte Betrachtung. Wir vergleichen unterschiedliche Geschäftsmodelle und testen diese über Prototypen und MVPs.

Ihre IoT-Strategie ist bereit zur Umsetzung? Gemeinsam definieren wir ein Operating Model für zukünftige Geschäftsmodelle und moderieren den Wandel für Ihre Fachabteilungen. Falls gewünscht, unterstützen wir Sie in der Verbesserung des Reifegrades von lean/agilen Entwicklungsmethoden. 

WAS IST EINE SMART PRODUCT TRANSFORMATION?

Wir bieten Ihnen eine produktgetriebene Transformation Ihres Geschäftsmodells, bei der wir die Potentiale aus Ihrem Produktportfolio identifizieren und in einer ganzheitlichen IoT-Strategie zusammenfassen. Wir führen Ihr Unternehmen ins digitale Zeitalter und setzen dabei auf Ihrem Produktportfolio auf, das wir mit neuen, digitalen Komponenten oder Services erweitern. Eine solche produktzentrische Transformation bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, Ihre Organisation positiv zu verändern und nachhaltig neue Innovationen freizusetzen. Aus unserer Erfahrung haben sich typische Transformationsmuster herauskristallisiert:

IOT-READINESS

Vernetzung von Geräten durch integrierte Schnittstellen und Protokolle. Vom Kerngeschäft zum „Smart Connected Device“-Anbieter – Sie machen Ihr Produkt (retrofit) smart.

ÖKOSYSTEME

Aufbau von „Smart Product“-Ökosystemen. Vom Produkt zur eigenen Konnektivitäts- und Steuerungslösung. Mögliche Anbindung und Integration in Vertriebs- und Service-Systeme.

GESCHÄFTSMODELLE

Implementierung neuer Geschäftsmodelle durch Smart Products. Entwicklung von datenbasierten Geschäftsmodellen und Erzielung wiederkehrender, servicebasierter Umsätze.

SKALIERUNG

Nachhaltige Skalierung der eigenen Organisation. Ihr Team entwickelt sich mit den neuen Anforderungen des „Smart Product“-Lebenszyklus weiter und gelangt zu neuer Exzellenz.

Alexander W. Jonke Geschäftsführer U-Experten

GET IN TOUCH

IN VIER SCHRITTEN ZU IHREM ERFOLG

HOW WE
WORK

Vision

01

Auf Smart Connected Devices zugeschnittene Design Thinking-Methoden führen zu einer klaren Struktur und einer einprägsamen Visualisierung von Ideen, Anwendungsfällen und Wertversprechen.

Journey

02

Die Zuordnung von Benutzergeschichten zu Schlüsselmerkmalen schafft Klarheit. Es ergeben sich Anforderungen an das Gerät (zum Beispiel bei Sensorik und Interfaces), die Cloud und die Konnektivität.

Concept

03

Von der Benutzerfreundlichkeit über die Systemarchitektur bis hin zur Preisgestaltung – die wesentlichen Zutaten für den Erfolg des Produkts müssen überprüft und erfahrbar gemacht werden.

Product

04

Ein „Minimum Viable Product“ (MVP) ist die erste Version eines Produkts oder Services mit gerade genug Funktionen, um frühe Kunden und Nutzer zu begeistern.

WIR HABEN ANTWORTEN

FAQ

Die Transformation Ihres Produkts zu einem „Smart Connected Device“ ermöglicht aus Kundenperspektive häufig eine deutlich bessere Produkterfahrung sowie völlig neue Anwendungen und Möglichkeiten. Kunden erwarten zunehmend, dass ihre Produkte in ihrem gewohnten Umfeld reibungslos funktionieren und sich intuitiv integrieren und nutzen lassen. Für Unternehmen bedeutet dies zum einen die Möglichkeit, neue Kundenbedürfnisse besser zu erfüllen, zum anderen ergeben sich aus Unternehmenssicht häufig völlig neue Geschäftsmodelle. Lohnenswert ist auch die Betrachtung einer wirtschaftlichen Einbindung in kooperative Netzwerke und Ökosysteme.

Human Centered Design ist ein “menschenzentrierter“ Ansatz zur Problemlösung und zeichnet sich durch eine starke Einbindung menschlicher Perspektiven in den Problemlösungsprozess aus. In unserer Beratungspraxis nutzen wir Human Centered Design, um anhand der individuellen Kundenbedürfnisse ein durchdachtes Smart Connected Device mit einer überlegenen User Experience zu entwickeln. Die Anwender Ihres Produkts stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt aller Überlegungen und definieren mit Ihren Anforderungen und Wünschen die weitere Ausgestaltung des neuen Produkts, beispielsweise auf technologischer Seite.

An neuen Ideen und Innovationen sind wir immer interessiert. Wir unterstützen gerne Startups dabei, ihre Ideen über iterative Prototypen und MVPs zu verfeinern und in die Praxis umzusetzen. Für mehr Informationen zu unserem Startup-Programm, nutzen Sie bitte unser Kontaktformular.